Ideas for Learners Promoting Literacy, Inquiry, and Meaningful Learning Experiences

Under the Egg by Laura Marx Fitzgerald

 

Book Summary

Theo could use some extra money. When her grandfather dies, she is left with her brilliant but irresponsible mother in a rundown house in an expensive neighborhood. She is literally counting pennies every time she rides a bus or pays a bill. Her grandfather's last words lead to a mysterious painting discovery. Is this piece of art actually a valuable treasure?

Book Review

 Fans of From the Mixed-up Files of Mrs. Basil E. Frankweiler or Chasing Vermeer or Masterpiece are likely to enjoy the style of this book. Theo's poverty and new friendship with the daughter of two famous actors (who are inattentive parents), in addition to the unfolding history of her grandfather's past, lend extra dimensions to this story. Readers who aren't especially fans of art will still enjoy the plot, and those with any prior knowledge or interest in art history are in good hands with this author.

 
Under the Egg book cover
Under the Egg

Topics and Themes for this book:

 
  • Art History - Renaissance (Raphael)
  • WWII - Monuments Men and Concentration Camps
 
  • Eccentric/Absent Parents
  • Pride, Ethics, Justice

Discussion Questions for this book:

The best discussion questions, of course, are generated by and contemplated by readers. These questions are designed to avoid major spoilers about the book, and to provide a starting point for teachers, parents, and student reading groups.

    **Questions Coming Soon **

If you liked this book, you might also like . . .

 
Chasing Vermeer book cover
Chasing Vermeer
 
Shakespeare's Secret book cover
Shakespeare's Secret
 
The Westing Game book cover
The Westing Game