Ideas for Learners Promoting Literacy, Inquiry, and Meaningful Learning Experiences

The Lightning Thief series by Rick Riordan

Percy Jackson and the Olympians


Book Summary

Book 1: The Lightning Thief
A teenage boy with a loving mom and disgusting stepdad discovers that he is a demigod, and goes to Camp Half-Blood to train to fight monsters from "ancient" Greek myths. Percy Jackson is a modern New Yorker, but will that be enough to defeat the Minotaur? Or Clarisse, the aggressive daughter of Ares who hates his guts?

Book 2: The Sea of Monsters
Book 3: The Titan's Curse
Book 4: The Battle of the Labyrinth
Book 5: The Last Olympian

The Heroes of Olympus series features a new trio of main characters, but also brings in some of the characters from this original series.

The Trials of Apollo series also introduces new characters, but features appearances from some of the characters in this book.

The Lightning Thief book cover
The Lightning Thief

Book Review

Fast-paced action and clever retorts will appeal to many readers, and fans of Greek myths will enjoy connecting well-known characters to this book's modern counterparts.  This is one of the most compelling, can't-put-it-down kind of books in this genre.

left 3D quotation mark

Chapter One: I Accidentally Vaporize My Pre-Algebra Teacher."

Topics and Themes for this book:

  • Identity
  • Courage
  • Good and Evil
  • Responsibility to do the right thing

Discussion Questions for this book:

The best discussion questions, of course, are generated by and contemplated by readers. These questions are designed to avoid major spoilers about the book, and to provide a starting point for teachers, parents, and student reading groups.

**Questions Coming Soon**

If you liked this book, you might also like . . .

A Year in the Life of a Total and Complete Genius book cover
A Year in the Life of a Total and Complete Genius
A Whole Nother Story book cover
A Whole Nother Story
I Have a Bad Feeling About This book cover
I Have a Bad Feeling About This