Ideas for Learners Promoting Literacy, Inquiry, and Meaningful Learning Experiences

Artemis Fowl series by Eoin Colfer


Book Summary

Book 1: Artemis Fowl
This is the first book in a series about a twelve-year-old genius with unlimited money and power.  If that weren't compelling enough, meet Captain Holly Short, an ambitious elvish officer with the LEP (lower elemental police) Recon force, whose penchant for adventure makes exploding a restaurant to save a crowd of people from a giant troll look like a fairly ordinary day.

Book 2: The Arctic Incident
Book 3: The Eternity Code
Book 4: The Opal Deception
Book 5: The Lost Colony
Book 6: The Time Paradox
Book 7: The Atlantis Complex
Book 8: The Last Guardian
Artemis Fowl book cover
Artemis Fowl

Book Review

Highly addictive, amusing, unexpected, and clever, this book is packed with challenging vocabulary. While the story has plenty of humor and action to propel it forward, readers will need a lot of word power to appreciate it fully.

left 3D quotation mark

Stand back, human. You don't know what you're dealing with."

Topics and Themes for this book:

  • Ethics and Ambition
  • Courage
  • Elves, Trolls, Fairies
  • Responsibility to do the right thing

Discussion Questions for this book:

The best discussion questions, of course, are generated by and contemplated by readers. These questions are designed to avoid major spoilers about the book, and to provide a starting point for teachers, parents, and student reading groups.

**Questions Coming Soon**

If you liked this book, you might also like . . .

Stuck on Earth book cover
Stuck on Earth
I Have a Bad Feeling About This book cover
I Have a Bad Feeling About This
The Trials of Apollo book cover
The Trials of Apollo